Pennsylvania Educational Technology Expo & Conference

This past week I attended PETE&C the Pennsylvania Educational Technology Conference and Expo.  I have been attending this conference from the beginning of the “computer movement” (We did not call it Technology back then.) and I am always amazed at the constant change and enthusiasm exhibited at the conference.  The conference has undergone many changes starting out as a small one room get together to the almost 3000 that gather in Hershey, Pa each February today.

Yes there has been change but have we really changed.  It seems that we are still searching for the one tool the will change learning.  Personally, I am not sure that there is one.  I have listened to the siren song of the introduction of the overhead projector, super8 projector, Laserdisc, too many computer systems to remember, touch screens, palms, Podcasting, IPods, Smartphones and IPods.  All of them came with the hype of revolutionizing education.  Well I am still here and I seem to be more involved in an Evolution than a Revolution.

The one truth that I have learned is that Learning is Hard Work!  You can buy all of the toys, tools, or curriculum you could ever hope for.  You can sing it, record it, video tape it, YouTube it, chant it, write it, flash card app it, web it, wiki it, online it, Glogster it, ITunes it, share it, Google it, interact with it, web quest it, (What did I forget?) and still you have the hard work of learning it.

All of these gigits and gadgets can help but I have only ever seen one tool make a real difference in the classroom or online, the teacher.  A wonderful individual who knows how to organize material, manage a physical or online classroom and brings an enthusiasm to learning every day.

OK, enough from me, but this is my blog so I do get to speak my mind once in a while.

